In the late 19. Century Vienna experienced a unique craze for Venice. The sunken city embodied everything an aspiring Viennese associated with extravaganza, glamour and romance, combined with the huge success of international expositions, Gabor Steiner and Oskar Marmorek detected a trend and opened the theme park „Venice in Vienna“ at the famous Prater in 1895. This theme park enabled visitors who could not afford to travel to Venice to spend a day in their miniature city of dreams and phantasize away from the tough everyday life. In the same year building contractor Maximilian Haas had an outrageous vision and decided to replace an existing but aged building in Praterstraße with a true Venetian Palazzo. The idea for the Dogenhof was born and architect Carl Caufal started to build the first Viennese tenement building disguised as a Venetian palace. Its design vocabulary is a direct copy of existing Venetian fronts and an epitome of Maximilian Haas’ passionate love for Venice. He even had a inscription plate installed dedicated to his favorite city, saying: „In honor of Venice, the most wonderful city, Maximilian Haas located this house with the help of architect Carl Caufal in 1898.“ Right after its completion the building received widespread appreciation and was even printed on a post card which revealed its uniqueness in Vienna’s architectural landscape. Throughout the decades and during World War II the building lost parts of its decoration like small balconies, figurines and consoles but was restored and put under monument protection in 1978. In 2005 the restoration of the front and interior started and was completed under the direction of architect Reinhard Muxel in 2014. Until today the Dogenhof is a one of a kind reminder of Vienna’s love for Venice and the home of a new sensual kingdom: SUPERSENSE.